raspberry pi 3: install phidgets error

Supporting 2.6 and up
Bryan_sang
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:12 am
Location: Seoul, KOREA
Contact:

raspberry pi 3: install phidgets error

Postby Bryan_sang » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:19 pm

I am trying to control a DC motor with encoder, using your HighSpeedEncder.

I started with the next statement.

wget -qO- http://www.phidgets.com/gpgkey/pubring.gpg | apt-key add -

This gave me error messages citing that I am not root user.
(probably due to Oh or zero -mistake in my typing/reading the command)

Therefore, I changed to the root by issuing
sudo su
The command brings me to the root user.
However, after several tries, I could not perform

sudo apt-get update

Since there were another error messages.

I'll appreciate it if you could guide me to some appropriate manual section.

Thanks,

Bryan.

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: raspberry pi 3: install phidgets error

Postby Patrick » Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:39 am

Are you running a 32-bit Debian distribution?

You may have more luck compiling the libraries from source.

-Patrick

Bryan_sang
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:12 am
Location: Seoul, KOREA
Contact:

Re: raspberry pi 3: install phidgets error

Postby Bryan_sang » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:52 pm

I have installed the most upto-date Raspbian Jessie 64bit, and connected a 7 inch LCD touchscreen.

Would the 32bit Raspbian Jessie version be more stable than 64bit equivalent?

Thank you so much for your help.

Bryan_sang
Phidgetsian
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:12 am
Location: Seoul, KOREA
Contact:

Re: raspberry pi 3: install phidgets error

Postby Bryan_sang » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:37 am

Dear Patrick,

Sorry for my ignorance. The reply above is totally misleading.

1.I don't think I had any choice in the 32bit or 64bit OS during my installation process of the Raspberry Pi 3.

I simply followed the instructions in the Installation guide steps.

2. When I issue 'sudo apt-get upgrade' command, it seems to work without any Error Messages.

Thanks again,

Bryan.


Return to “Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest