Efficient interfacing with Psychopy

Supporting 2.7 and 3.2+
ainsliej
Phidgetsian

Efficient interfacing with Psychopy

Post by ainsliej »

Hi there,

I am new to working with Phidgets and with Python so this question may be very basic. I am attempting to write a program which takes voltage ratio info from 5 sensors (one for each finger) and uses this to control the position of a shape presented on screen using Psychopy.

I have a working code (see below), but it seems to be very slow and inefficient as I only see the cursors move ~2x per second. The code below is executed every frame. It takes the new voltage ratio, subtracts that from the baseline voltage ratio, and then uses this to calculate the new position variable. The position of the shape is then also updated each frame (code not shown here).

Code: Select all

newRthumb= voltageRatioRthumb.getVoltageRatio()
newRindex= voltageRatioRindex.getVoltageRatio()
newRmiddle= voltageRatioRmiddle.getVoltageRatio()
newRring= voltageRatioRring.getVoltageRatio()
newRlittle= voltageRatioRlittle.getVoltageRatio()

BLedRthumb=newRthumb-BLRthumb
BLedRindex=newRindex-BLRindex
BLedRmiddle=newRmiddle-BLRmiddle
BLedRring=newRring-BLRring
BLedRlittle=newRlittle-BLRlittle

PosRthumb =(BLedRthumb/0.000125)-0.75
PosRindex =(BLedRindex/0.000125)-0.75
PosRmiddle =(BLedRmiddle/0.000125)-0.75
PosRring =(BLedRring/0.000125)-0.75
PosRlittle =(BLedRlittle/0.000125)-0.75
Is there a better way to do this? I thought perhaps to use an event handler might be better, but I have struggled to use the event handler function to create a variable which I can then use outside the function. Also I should mention slow frame rate does not seem to be an inherent problem of the monitor, I can present other things at much higher time resolution.

Thanks in advance!
mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Efficient interfacing with Psychopy

Post by mparadis »

I would certainly recommend doing this using events.