how can I detect limit switch using 1067 ? by currentChange?

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
lrakoto
Fresh meat

how can I detect limit switch using 1067 ? by currentChange?

Post by lrakoto »

Hi everybody,

i am a newbie ! :(

I just bought a 1067( it is not arrived yet !) to be used with a geared nema23 (2.8A/coil) stepper motor but unfortunately, I just discovered that digital inputs have been removed in 1607 ! How could i manage then the "homing" ? (before I was used to use limit switches via digital inputs)
Inside the user guide , it is written :

"There are several ways of overcoming this drawback. The simplest is to allow the motor load to depress a limit switch (but how to report without any digital inputs ? ) located at a known position. This can be used to fire an event in software to recalibrate the shaft position values. A more elegant solution might involve the mounting of an optical encoder on the shaft and the development of a control system (but how to compute without any digital inputs ? ) ."

Then, my dawback plan is to fix a mechanical limit and then monitoring the StepperCurrentChanged(e) function.
Could someone enlighten me please ?

Thank you in advance,
lrakoto
lrakoto
Fresh meat

Re: how can I detect limit switch using 1067 ? by currentCha

Post by lrakoto »

Sorry for my bad English,

I meant, the only way that I found to get a " homing " (zero position) as a drawback solution is to place a mechanical stop and monitoring the CurrentChange status.
But, is this working using the 1067 ? ( because I read also that the current sensing on 1067 has been removed ??)

If somebody has another idea, it will be really welcome :)

Thank you,
lrakoto
mparadis
Site Admin

Post by mparadis »