Syntax question

Supporting Visual Studio on Windows
dondiggy
Fresh meat

Syntax question

Postby dondiggy » Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:27 pm

I'm relatively new to programming in C#, and I was hoping someone might be able to give me some quick pointers. As I was going through the C# example for the 1057_2 quadrature encoder I noticed the following 3 statement listed below.

Phidgets.Encoder encoder; //Declare an encoder object
private ArrayList inputArray;
private ErrorEventBox errorBox;

A few lines later the Encoder, ArrayList, and ErrorEventBox objects are instantiated using the "new" keyword and the following variable names: encoder, inputArray, and errorBox. I don't understand the purpose of the 3 lines listed above if you need the "new" keyword to instantiate an object. I apologize if this isn't the right forum for a question like this, but really do appreciate any help that helps my progression.

Thank you!

mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Syntax question

Postby mparadis » Fri Nov 06, 2015 8:40 am

The first line is merely declaring the variable; think of it as setting up an empty container or label for the object. When you use the "new" keyword, that's when the object is actually created and the object's constructor is called.

So, if you copied this line

Code: Select all

encoder = new Phidgets.Encoder();
to another place further down in the same instance, the constructor would be called again, the label "encoder" would refer to this new object, and the old object would be lost.

dondiggy
Fresh meat

Postby dondiggy » Mon Nov 09, 2015 11:22 am

What's the point of declaring these variables without initializing them? Why not declare them where you intend to initialize them? Just curious.

Thank you for all the help! Your answer definitely helped!

mparadis
Site Admin

Postby mparadis » Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:29 am