Python code for handling Events from Digital input

Supporting 2.7 and 3.2+
drc
Phidgetly

Python code for handling Events from Digital input

Post by drc »

I'm hoping someone here can share a sample of Python code showing how to handle events from a Digital Input on an interface kit. My application is pretty basic - I want to log time/date when a digital input changes state. I've looked at the sample code ("Interface kit-simple.py") but my Python skills are not sufficient to figure out how to make it work.

Thanks for your help.
pmpaq
Fresh meat

Re: Python code for handling Events from Digital input

Post by pmpaq »

I'm a bit new to both phidgets and python, but have recently thrown myself into it so I'll try at an answer....

The key process handling the change events of the input in the sample code is with the function interfaceKitInputChanged. That function was setup as an event handler in the main program code with:

Code: Select all

interfaceKit.setOnInputChangeHandler(interfaceKitInputChanged)
So if you setup the pyhton logging module by adding to the module imports near the top of the program:

import logging
and near the beginning of the main program code with something like...

logging.basicConfig(filename='example.log',format='%(asctime)s %(message)s')
Then you should be able to add something like the following into the interfaceKitInputChanged function:

logging.info( "Input %i: %s" % ( e.index, e.state))
Hope this helps....
drc
Phidgetly

Post by drc »

@pmpaq,
Thanks. This is a big help. I made good progress over the weekend, and will post back here when I have something working. I've run into a glitch handling signals (for example, a Ctrl-C, to exit from an endless loop). I'm going to report it in another thread so as not to hijack this one...
drc
Phidgetly

Post by drc »

@freshmeat,
Attached is the little Python program I wrote (my first).