Why so many Phidget threads?

Supporting 2.6 and up
Ironphase
Fresh meat

Why so many Phidget threads?

Postby Ironphase » Tue May 21, 2013 2:16 pm

I am new to phidget programming and I was not able to find a previous posting addressing this issue.
After developing a bit on my r-pi with a phidget interface kit and accelerometer, I noticed that every
phidget device added with an _open() call triggers a new thread. This is a bit worrisome for my because I am planning to add a lot of devices. Does that mean I am going to have 12 or more threads generated after opening 12 devices?

Ideally I would like to keep the number of threads low and close to the number of hardware threads supported. I already have the main engine loop for the application written and just like the architecture of a typical game engine, I would like to devote one thread to the physical hardware, sensor reading, attribute settings and the other threads left to AI and more useful stuff.

Is there a way to open the phidget devices and controlling the polling of data directly without triggering extra threads?

Thanks

Patrick
Lead Developer

Re: Why so many Phidget threads?

Postby Patrick » Tue May 21, 2013 2:44 pm

No, each opened device will have 2 associated threads.

-Patrick

Ironphase
Fresh meat

Postby Ironphase » Tue May 21, 2013 3:07 pm

Ouchy!

Patrick
Lead Developer

Postby Patrick » Tue May 21, 2013 4:08 pm

why so afraid of threads? We have never found this to be an issue performance-wise.

-Patrick

Ironphase
Fresh meat

Postby Ironphase » Tue May 21, 2013 8:20 pm

I guess I am going to find out soon. But yes, I had performance concerns.

chal3oye
Fresh meat

Postby chal3oye » Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:22 am

After developing a bit on my r-pi with a phidget interface kit and accelerometer, I noticed that every