Can I control the 3051_! relay with the analog input?

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
niccolodecaro
Fresh meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:58 am
Contact:

Can I control the 3051_! relay with the analog input?

Postby niccolodecaro » Fri May 03, 2013 7:05 am

Hello everybody.
I have connected the analog connector (white+red+black) of the 3051_1 dual relay board to the following sensor mote:
http://zolertia.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Z1

I can set the analog output pin of the mote (where the white cable is connected) to 0V and to 3.25V.

Can I use this output to control the relay? If so, how?

Thanks a lot,
Niccolo

User avatar
mparadis
Site Admin
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I control the 3051_! relay with the analog input?

Postby mparadis » Fri May 03, 2013 8:29 am

The analog connector on the 3051 is only used to power the board, so the white wire isn't actually doing anything. You can control the relay by sending a 0-5V signal to the control input on the board.

Are you sure you can change the voltage on the analog inputs of the Z1 board? I don't see that feature mentioned on the PDF. If you can, then you should be able to cut the white wire and connect it to the control terminal.

niccolodecaro
Fresh meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 6:58 am
Contact:

Re: Can I control the 3051_! relay with the analog input?

Postby niccolodecaro » Fri May 03, 2013 8:54 am

Hi, thank for your reply!
You can set the voltage of the ADC pins, as explained here in the section related to the relays:
http://zolertia.sourceforge.net/wiki/in ... ki_drivers

I tried to cut the white cable and connect it to the control terminal, with no results.

Do you have any further suggestions?

User avatar
mparadis
Site Admin
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I control the 3051_! relay with the analog input?

Postby mparadis » Fri May 03, 2013 9:11 am

Is the Z1 providing enough voltage for the relays to switch (on the red wire)? These relays need at least 3.5V to function.


Return to “All Other Phidgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests