Distributed Control

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
mikecando
Fresh meat

Distributed Control

Postby mikecando » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:09 am

I think I am missing a very clear point and I am hoping someone might shed some light.

I wish to use Phidgets for home automation projects and more for fun and hobby. I am envisioning an architecture where I have a master IO board connected to my computer. This master IO board will then interact with slave IO boards where different sensors such as temperature, proximity,... are connected. I did not find a lot of info on IO board to IO board communication?

I envision that the master IO and slave IO communication would be over RS485 so that I could cover longer distances than USB and also have minimum wiring. Basically, I wish to cover ranges of at least 200' with minimal wiring and more flexibility. Having a slave IO board (remote IO) provides future enhancements without much rewiring.

It would be greatly appreciated if someone could extrapolate on my architectural ideas and offer possibly better alternatives? Maybe I am thing old school?

Thank you in adavance

mikecando
Fresh meat

Re: Distributed Control

Postby mikecando » Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:15 am

Trying to answer my own question after some research. It does look like USB is extendable with third party additions. I also saw something about over the Ethernet or possible wirelessly?

Anyone have some insight on how feasible these methods would be. I am guessing a 100' cable could be expensive and a wireless option.

Wireless would be the easiest to install and most flexible but how would the programming be handled (is there additional programming overhead)?

How reliable is each option and how is performance effected?

erik
King of the Lab

Postby erik » Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:43 am