contact question without power

Technical Discussions on any InterfaceKits
cizzi
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:33 am
Contact:

contact question without power

Postby cizzi » Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:30 pm

i own the classic interface 8/8/8 board, which function of the board would allow me to simply close a circuit without applying any power? not even 3.3v or 5v or do I need to use a relay without a power source? would that work?

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby burley » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:30 am

Would a simple toggle switch not work?

Assuming it would not (perhaps it needs to be automated) then yes, you would need to use a relay such as a 3051 or 3052.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com

cizzi
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby cizzi » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:33 am

If I use a 3051 I simply leave out the battery in connecting it right?

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby burley » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:46 am

There will need to be some current in the line, mechanical relays like the 3051 require a minimum wetting current on the load side before they are capable of actuating.

However, the control side and the load side of the relays are isolated so no power will transfer from the controller (your 1018 for example) to the load.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com

cizzi
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby cizzi » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:55 am

I prefer no current be on the load at all since this is to automate the shorting of 2 pins of a motherboard, what if I use the solid state relays intead?

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby burley » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:00 am

I am not sure I understand the point in switching lines that don't have any current flowing in them. If there is no current flow then there is no voltage drop so you wouldn't be accomplishing anything. Unless maybe you are trying to automate the jumpers?

A solid state relay should be able to do it but it depends on the relay. They often have 0 wetting current but some have a very small one.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com

cizzi
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:33 am
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby cizzi » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:37 am

yes I'm trying to automate the manual process of putting a plastic jumper on 2 pins

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby burley » Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:04 pm

Hm, I am not sure if that would work, let me test it out.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com

User avatar
burley
Human-Cyborg Relations
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: contact question without power

Postby burley » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:09 pm

yeah, the 3052 can do it.
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com


Return to “InterfaceKits”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests