Two RFID Readers

Supporting Visual Studio on Windows
liamh

Two RFID Readers

Postby liamh » Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:21 am

Hey guys,

I am new to phidgets and Visual c# and i was just wondering if there are any online resources where i can find code to take information from two different readers simultaneously? (the two readers i am using are the 1023-Phidgets RFID kits).

or if any of you guys have a piece of code that may help?

also, if i am reading a tag and i want to change its value, for example, one tag has the value "1500832423" written to it, can i temporarily change this to somebody's name instead using visual c#?!!

thanks in advance for any help!

Patrick
Lead Developer

Re: Two RFID Readers

Postby Patrick » Fri Feb 05, 2010 10:38 am

In oder to open two readers, you just need to create another RFID object and open it - probably a good idea to specify the readers serial numbers so that you know which reader is associated with which object.

The tags are read only, so you can't change their values.

-Patrick

liamh

Postby liamh » Sat Feb 06, 2010 6:25 am

thanks for your reply.

however, i don't actually want to write to the tag, i just want that instead of displaying its number it will display a name which i will input instead.
so i bring the tag within range of the reader, the tags number is shown on the form, i put my name into a text box and now everytime something happens with the tag, my name will be displayed instead of the tags number!

its a little difficult to explain, i am new to visual c# and phidgets!!

liamh

Postby liamh » Sat Feb 06, 2010 7:54 am

i figured out a simple way of changing the name for anyone who is interested here is the code i used:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace TagTest
{
public partial class Form1 : Form
{
private string tagIn = "";
private string newName = "";