Vint Hub Digital Output

Comments & issues
MeijinGandalf
Phidgetsian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:23 am
Contact:

Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby MeijinGandalf » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:17 pm

I am having and issue with the Digital Output on my Vint Hub. When I call do.setState(True) it is telling me that the device is not attached. I even check that it is attached right before I call it. I have a few other things connected to the Vint Hub as well as an RFID Reader. I found that if i do not attach the RFID Reader or the RFID_LED that the call to do.setState(True) works normally. Does anyone have any idea why this would happen?

User avatar
mparadis
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby mparadis » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:14 pm

If a channel isn't attaching, it's either because the right properties aren't being set (e.g. isHubPortDevice = true when using a VINT Hub output), or because that channel is already open in another program, such as the Phidget control panel. I'm not sure why connecting or disconnecting another Phidget would affect this, so try to ensure that it's neither of the above things.

MeijinGandalf
Phidgetsian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby MeijinGandalf » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:49 pm

It is attaching. I also tried it with a different VINT hub and got the same behavior. With more testing I also found that this is only happening when trying to use port 0 as a Digital Output while also using an RFID reader.

User avatar
mparadis
Site Admin
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby mparadis » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:41 am

If you're not specifying the device serial number, it's possible that your program is trying to open the digital output on the RFID reader instead of the VINT Hub.

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3078
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby Patrick » Mon Aug 20, 2018 1:38 pm

This issue has been identified as a bug, and a fix is forthcoming.

-Patrick

MeijinGandalf
Phidgetsian
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:23 am
Contact:

Re: Vint Hub Digital Output

Postby MeijinGandalf » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:22 am

Awesome thanks guys!


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests