Thermocouple type not saving

Comments & issues
Lineage
Fresh meat

Thermocouple type not saving

Post by Lineage »

Hello.

(I am a newbie) I have recently installed my Phidget, thermocouple set up in my coffee roaster and all is working fine except for one small thing. I am using a "J type" thermocouple. Every time I start my computer up, the "thermocouple type" setting is lost (on the Phidget program) and has defaulted to "K type". I am worried that I will forget to change this every time, and might roast on a different setting. Is there a way to permanently save the thermocouple type to J type?

Kind regards and thank you.
mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Thermocouple type not saving

Post by mparadis »

What program are you using for the roast? There should be a setting in the program that will remember the thermocouple type. If it's your own program, you should set the thermocouple type in the attach handler. If you're just using the Phidget Control Panel, there's no option like this because it's just meant to be a diagnostic tool to make sure your devices are working (although if you really like the control panel example, you could download and modify it- they're the C# GUI examples).
ipicco
Fresh meat

Post by ipicco »

Did you find a fix? I am having the same issue. It never used to be an issue until a few months back. It's driving me nuts. I need to change my TC type to J instead of K, but just like you Phidget Control Panel will NOT save the TC Type when I change it. It defaults back to K as soon as I close the window.
mparadis
Site Admin

Post by mparadis »

As mentioned above, the Phidget control panel doesn't have a setting that will allow it to remember the previously selected thermocouple type. It's meant to be a diagnostic tool, not a fully-featured interface. I'm not sure why this would have started happening suddenly, because it's been this way since Phidget22 was first released.