Ambient Temp/Humidity/LightLevel, TextLCD888 + colour TFTs

Any other Phidget projects you've done not related to the above subjects
rallysjd
Fresh meat

Ambient Temp/Humidity/LightLevel, TextLCD888 + colour TFTs

Postby rallysjd » Sun Mar 08, 2015 1:37 pm

I've been using Phidgets for several years in some lab test equipment, with the TextLCD888 being the most useful due to the two line display to indicate equipment and process status. Over the last couple of years as time permitted, I've been creating some USB colour TFT displays powered by a 72MHz ARM Cortex-M3. The intent of these USB component boards is to complement the Phidget I/O kits.

Decaf1_Decaf2_TextLCD888_m.png
Decaf1_Decaf2_TextLCD888_m.png (180.95 KiB) Viewed 3305 times

The image shows a test rig (a simple ambient sensor set) that demonstrates the TextLCD888 being controlled by a Windows app (written in PiXCL 11, not shown), and the sensors (temp/RH, light level and magnetic) being reported to the colour displays.

These display devices are called Decaf boards (... because they don't need Java) and appear to the host system as USB HID's. There's a comprehensive set of graphics draw commands for lines, circles, rectangles and text in multiple fonts. For example, a host app turns on all the TextLCD888 digital outputs (which turns on the yellow LEDs) and a single command to a Decaf board draw all six indicators.

Creating these boards
It was quite a learning exercise: here's these tiny inexpensive boards, how hard could it be? A LOT harder that you might think. There's ARM architecture, cross-compiler tool chains, hardware design, USB device firmware (HID, MSD, CDC), Real Time OS issues, USB and TCP/IP middleware, device drivers.