Pressure Triggered Countdown Timer and Alarm

What do you need Phidgets to do for you?
jschultz
Fresh meat

Pressure Triggered Countdown Timer and Alarm

Postby jschultz » Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:46 am

Hi Everyone,

So I'm fairly new to this and could use some help. I've been asked to make a device that essentially starts a countdown timer once an object is placed on the load sensor. If the object is removed from the sensor, the timer resets. However if the timer reaches zero, I need an alarm to sound and preferably have some light flash. This unit would ideally be standalone against a wall and not be hooked up to a desktop PC.

For my research so far, I think I will need:

1. load cell: 3136_0 Button Load Cell (0-50 kg capacity)
2. interface/amplifier: 1046 phidget bridge 4 input interface
3. SBC: open to suggestions
4. Simple LED/LCD clock display: open to suggestions, but I would Ideally like it to be read from 10-20 ft away.
5. Small speaker: open to suggestions

I have some experience with MatLab, Python, and Visual Basic coding, but am curious what the best direction to go for all of this. I'm thinking of starting into c++ from some of the things I have read, but honestly am just looking for some feedback at this point.

Thanks in advance!

-JS

mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Pressure Triggered Countdown Timer and Alarm

Postby mparadis » Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:41 am

Here are my thoughts: