Need help for prgram 1046_0B and Load cell

Supporting Visual Studio on Windows
Melvyn966
Fresh meat

Need help for prgram 1046_0B and Load cell

Post by Melvyn966 »

Hello everyone,

I am a student in a high school in France, we have purchased a button load cell and Phidget bridge 1046_0B to make pressure tests.

I have managed to install panel and connect the bridge to my Windows 10 PC. It works fine.

I just need to get a window showing the pressure, and so get the weight on the cell load button (that is to say turn the voltage to newton and display on screen), but since I have no knowledge of programming, I’m lost with Phidget’s code sample.

Can anyone help me?

If this may help, Device serial number is 572838, Device channel it 0 and everything will be local (USB connection).

Thanks in advance for your help
Melvyn
mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Need help for prgram 1046_0B and Load cell

Post by mparadis »

There are two different problems you need to solve here:

1. Converting from mV/V to pressure or weight
Load cells provide an output of mV/V (i.e. for each volt used to power the load cell, it sends back a certain mV proportional to the amount of strain in the load cell). In order to convert this to a meaningful unit, you must calibrate the load cell with a known value. For example, if you want it to measure weight, you can place an object of known weight on the load cell and take note of the mV/V. Then measure the mV/V with no weight on the load cell. Using these two points, you can create a straight line that you can use to convert any future values to a weight. You can find a more in-depth guide of this process here.
You should recalibrate often for most accurate results.

2. Displaying the converted value on your screen