Is there any documentation on how to get the current Phidget 3/3/3 imu working with ROS

Supporting 2.6 and up
Matthewfwork
Fresh meat

Is there any documentation on how to get the current Phidget 3/3/3 imu working with ROS

Post by Matthewfwork »

I just bought this imu from phidget https://www.phidgets.com/?tier=3&catid= ... rodid=1204 and was trying to get it working with ROS. I installed the required packages and noticed that the libraries have been updated. I went through that process as well and when trying to launch the ROS package associated with. I am having no luck getting it to work. Is there any documentation on getting the newer phidget imus working with ROS? Thank you for any help I am very new to ros and robotics as a whole.
DroneMan2002
Fresh meat

Re: Is there any documentation on how to get the current Phidget 3/3/3 imu working with ROS

Post by DroneMan2002 »

i am also stuck on this. i did everything as it was instructed but i get an error:
ERROR] [1634736683.221199837]: Spatial: Failed to open device: Timed Out
[FATAL] [1634736683.224010814]: Failed to load nodelet '/PhidgetsSpatialNodelet` of type `phidgets_spatial/PhidgetsSpatialNodelet` to manager `imu_manager'
mparadis
Site Admin

Re: Is there any documentation on how to get the current Phidget 3/3/3 imu working with ROS

Post by mparadis »

I don't know much about the ROS package since it's not written by Phidgets, but if you're getting a Timed Out error on open, it can mean a number of things:

- The channel you're trying to open is already open in another program (such as the Phidget control panel)
- The program has set the matching parameters for open that don't match with your device (e.g. if you set a DeviceSerialNumber of 222222, you'll get a timeout if you only have a device with serial number 222223 connected)