Voltage Error on OUT1000

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
phischmi
Phidgetsian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:39 am
Contact:

Voltage Error on OUT1000

Postby phischmi » Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:00 am

Hi all,
i've made a simple circuit to control a pc fan.
The circuit is based on an ATtiny85, which measures the voltage on its Pin3 and then sends a corresponding pwm signal to the fan.

Image

I control the voltage on Pin3 via an OUT1000, where 0V is OFF and 4.2V equals 100% power. This works great so far :)

There is just one thing i can't explain to myself:
When trying different voltages via the Phidget-Tool i get several "Voltage Errors" at around ~3.0V. This error occurs when there is a voltage drop because of a higher current draw. But since i'm just measuring the voltage, there should be no higher current draw :?
To be clear, the ATtiny only measures the adjacent voltage on its Pin3. The fans power comes from one separate 12V source, which also powers the ATtiny itself.

Do you guys have any ideas, why this error occurs?


Thanks in advance.

Philipp

User avatar
Patrick
Lead Developer
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Voltage Error on OUT1000

Postby Patrick » Fri Mar 29, 2019 11:10 am

Hi,

See here: https://www.phidgets.com/?tier=3&catid= ... nd_Sinking

Your ATtiny85 should not be drawing anywhere near enough current to cause a voltage error.

Have you also connected the ground between the OUT1000 and your circuit?

-Patrick

phischmi
Phidgetsian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:39 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Error on OUT1000

Postby phischmi » Mon Apr 01, 2019 7:28 am

Hi Patrick,
yes, grounds are connected.

phischmi
Phidgetsian
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:39 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Error on OUT1000

Postby phischmi » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:36 pm

Hi,
the errors only occur between 3.07V nd 4.1V, by the way.

This is the circuit i built:
Image

And everything soldered together:
Image

The one 10kOhm resistor at the bottom was added afterwards, because of the 100nF capacitor before the ATtinys analog in... :roll:
Removing this resistor makes no difference to the described errors.

Maybe this info helps.


Regards

Philipp


Return to “All Other Phidgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest