Connecting TMP1101_0 and TMP4106_0

Any hardware type questions or problems for all other Phidget devices.
elmills
Fresh meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:43 pm
Contact:

Connecting TMP1101_0 and TMP4106_0

Postby elmills » Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:48 pm

So just getting started using Phidgets/VINT.

Purchased a TMP1101_0 (4 Thermocouple) and a HUB0000_0 Hub. They seem to be working together just fine. However, I didn't pay close attention and the TMP4106_0 thermocouple that I ordered came with spade connectors on the ends and not bare wire. I wasn't sure if cutting the spade connectors off and using the bare wire or using standard wire that I have around the house may be a viable option to create a "jumper" to the TMpP1101_0 before I cut off the ends.

User avatar
mparadis
Site Admin
Posts: 462
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Connecting TMP1101_0 and TMP4106_0

Postby mparadis » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:07 am

We expect most customers will snip off the connectors and use the bare wire. Do not use ordinary wire; creating additional junctions in a thermocouple can change the voltage differential and interfere with your readings unless you specifically use thermocouple extension wire and connectors.

elmills
Fresh meat
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Connecting TMP1101_0 and TMP4106_0

Postby elmills » Fri Jan 12, 2018 4:10 pm

Thanks for the information/clarification. From what I had read that looked to be the case but was for sure.


Return to “All Other Phidgets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest