QuadCopters

zero0ne

QuadCopters

Postby zero0ne » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:31 am

Anyone working on using a phidget in a quadcopter setup?

Seems like it could work out pretty well with the SBC and if we had it, a GPS unit.

check this video out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJ9r2orcaYo

RBBT
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Lower Bavaria (Germany)
Contact:

Re: QuadCopters

Postby RBBT » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:16 pm

zero0ne wrote:Anyone working on using a phidget in a quadcopter setup?

Seems like it could work out pretty well with the SBC and if we had it, a GPS unit.


Hello,
yes, this is our next project. We plan to use this Phidgets:

1070 - PhidgetSBC
1056 - PhidgetSpatial 3/3/3
1061 - PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor
1128 - MaxBotix EZ-1 Sonar Sensor
1135 - Precision Voltage Sensor
and a USB GPS Mouse from Navilock.

As programming language we use Java.

But at first we have to check the compatibility between
the PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor and a speed controller for brushless motors.

If this is successful then the project starts.
Best Regards from Lower Bavaria
RBBT
http://www.robobuam.de/

Robert

Re: QuadCopters

Postby Robert » Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:51 am

That's so weird. We were just talking about quadcoptors at work on Thursday....

RBBT: There are lots of brushless DC motor controllers in the R/C hobby industry which accept a servo signal as an input. I've personally ran some off of a 1061. Usually it's just a simple matter of disconnecting the power wire between the 1061 and the Brushless controller (cut the red wire on the connecting cable).

zero0ne

Re: QuadCopters

Postby zero0ne » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:47 pm

keep me updated!

if I had an endless supply of money id build a group of 4 of these and have em circling my house 24/7 as a security system :)

Setup a base recharge station on the roof that they can land on and charge back up :)

would be really cool heh

RBBT
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Lower Bavaria (Germany)
Contact:

Re: QuadCopters

Postby RBBT » Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:27 am

zero0ne wrote:
if I had an endless supply of money id build a group of 4 of these and have em circling my house 24/7 as a security system :)


Cool idea! As weapon you can mount a compressor and a vuvuzela :lol:
We have already bought a brushless motor.
At the moment we wait for the delivery of the
1061 - PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor

We will place some informations about the compatibility test here in this thread.
But in a few days I go on leave for two weeks, so please be patient.
Best Regards from Lower Bavaria
RBBT
http://www.robobuam.de/

RBBT
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Lower Bavaria (Germany)
Contact:

Re: QuadCopters

Postby RBBT » Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:09 pm

Hi, I'm home again,
and I have good news: The 1061 - PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor
and our brushless controller work together!

At the moment we use the HITEC_815BB configuration.

Thank you very much to Robert and the Phidget Support for help!

For testing I have written a small Java App with this code for initialisation:

Code: Select all

private void _initPhidget()
   {
      try
      {
         p = new AdvancedServoPhidget();
         p.addAttachListener(new AttachListener()
         {
            public void attached(AttachEvent pAttachEvent)
            {
               System.out.println("Pichlertest.attached ");
            }
         });
         p.open(99694);
         p.waitForAttachment();
         p.setServoType(0, AdvancedServoPhidget.PHIDGET_SERVO_HITEC_815BB);
         p.setEngaged(0, true);
      }
      catch (Exception e)
      {
         e.printStackTrace();
      }
   }


The values are generated by a JSlider:

Code: Select all

final JSlider s = new JSlider(0, 180, 0);
s.addChangeListener(new ChangeListener()
{
  public void stateChanged(ChangeEvent e)
   {
      EventBus.publish(pos, ((Integer)s.getValue()).doubleValue());
   }
});


And are passed to the servo:

Code: Select all

try
{
   p.setPosition(0, (Double)data);
   statusBar.display(data.toString());
}
catch (PhidgetException e)
{
   e.printStackTrace();
}


There is a picture on our homepage, see PROJEKT "ROBODROHNE".
You can see the 1061 - PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor connectet to the brushless controller. The power supply is unnecessary because the brushless controller gets power from a LiPo Accu Pack.

We bought this combination: BOOST 25 Brushless Combo
http://www.pichler.de/shop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=36_136&products_id=800
The rest of the hardware is on order.
Best Regards from Lower Bavaria
RBBT
http://www.robobuam.de/

Robert

Re: QuadCopters

Postby Robert » Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:19 pm

You were probably talking to me in support too :)

RBBT
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Lower Bavaria (Germany)
Contact:

Re: QuadCopters

Postby RBBT » Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:25 pm

Robert wrote:You were probably talking to me in support too :)


I have already suggested :)
Best Regards from Lower Bavaria
RBBT
http://www.robobuam.de/

zero0ne

Re: QuadCopters

Postby zero0ne » Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:07 pm

nice!

Good luck guys! ill keep my eye on this one :)

RBBT
Phidgeteer!
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:16 pm
Location: Lower Bavaria (Germany)
Contact:

Re: QuadCopters

Postby RBBT » Sun Aug 01, 2010 10:15 am

Hello,

in the last few weeks we worked hard designing the hardware
and programming the software. We added some new photos to the overview
site at robobuam.de (first draft). You can see an artificial horizon which is designed
after the one in the newest Airbus A 380. The speed indicator (the grey bar on the left)
is currently unused. At the center you can see the roll/pitch indicator,
followed by the altitude indicator. The grey bar on the right visualises
an vertical speed indicator (VSI). We have four rounded instruments on the right.
They show us the revolution speed (indirectly) of the engines.
On the bottom of the panel we have placed some switches which we use for
calibration tasks and lowering the landing gear (not planned yet).

The two vertical bars are used for RAM usage of our receiver on the SBC
and the voltage of the main battery.

RBBM designed the frame as well as the arrangement of the electronic components.
In the next few days we try to collect all the hardware and assemble evrything.

We have detected a strange behavior of the SBC: If we shutdown our reciever on the SBC
and restart it immediately the sockets are allready in use.

We have replaced our transmitter with an very simple client server app and
doing the same, the same Exception occurs. We have to wait nearly
one minute before we can reuse the sockets. If anyone has some hints for
us please let us know.
Best Regards from Lower Bavaria
RBBT
http://www.robobuam.de/


Return to “Robotics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest