Products for USB Sensing and Control
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 12:14 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:06 am 
Offline
Phidgetly

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 31
As my dad used to say, I understand quickly once you explain things to me slowly :lol:

With that in mind, say I want to control 3 motors from the 1062, and let's assume they each draw 1A max per coil.
Do I need a 3A power supply ?(in the event that all motors are drawing their 1A at the same time) or is the 1062 designed so that only one motor can operate at a time?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:32 am 
Offline
Engineering

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:41 pm
Posts: 192
A stepper motor can have 2 coils active at one time, so if each coil is running at 1A you will require 2A for the whole motor. The controller will operate all 4 motor (3 motors in your case) at the same time. So your worst case scenario is 6A required.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline
Phidgetly

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 31
Thanks, that makes sense.

So my years of collecting adapters didn't work. The only one that comes closes to what I need is a 5V 2A (from a linksys wireless AP) Good enough for 1 motor. Grrrrr!

Maybe a PC power supply?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:15 am 
Offline
Human-Cyborg Relations
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:37 pm
Posts: 407
Location: Calgary
You will not ever actually need the full 6A. 5A will almost certainly be suitable.

http://www.phidgets.com/products.php?ca ... _id=3082_0

In general, laptop chargers are a good place to look. A full ATX PSU would also work but you would need to find one of the 12V rails in the mess of wires, and they are more expensive.

_________________
Brian Burley
403-282-7335 ext. 6003
support@phidgets.com


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:44 am 
Offline
Engineering

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:41 pm
Posts: 192
and remember that just because the motor specifies it can draw that much, your system may not demand that from the motor. You can always test it out with a 1A or 2A supply and see if it is good enough.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:13 pm 
Offline
Phidgetly

Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:31 pm
Posts: 31
burley wrote:
... but you would need to find one of the 12V rails in the mess of wires, and they are more expensive.


12v wouldn't be an issue. I do have several 12v laptop supplies.
But my motors are 5V (4.96v actually)
Shinano Kenshi stp-58d2017


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group