Products for USB Sensing and Control
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:24 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:59 am 
Offline
Phidgetsian

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 7
I have some problems with the 1061 PhidgetAdvancedServo 8-Motor.
When I attach this Phidget to my computer directly everything works fine. I can control the connected motors with the Phidget Control Panel and I can use other Phidgets at the same time. But when I attach the 1061 to the SBC2 I can indeed see the Phidget and open the AdvancedServo-full but after a few seconds the Attached status changes to "False" and I hear some clicking noises from the 1061. I am able to open the window again but after a few seconds the same problem occurs.

Is there someone having the same problem or someone who can help?

In addition:
If I use the 1061 together with other Phidgets and a W-LAN stick, all devices detach a few seconds after I open the AdvancedServo-full window. For getting the W-LAN stick running again I have to disconnect it first.

If I use all other devices exept the 1061 everything works fine.

The SBC2 and the 1061 are separately powered by a 12V / 2A power supply.

I tried a 28AWG-shielded USB cable and a 24AWG-shielded USB cable to connect the 1061 with the SBC2


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:43 am 
Offline
King of the Lab

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:42 pm
Posts: 475
Location: Calgary, Canada
Can you try plugging the 1061 into an externally powered hub and then connecting that to the 1072? Some people have had luck with that, although it is by no means a convenient fix.

You can contact the distributor you purchased it from for an RMA, or if you bought it directly from us, you can email support@phidgets.com for a new 1061 and 1072.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:40 am 
Offline
Lead Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:46 am
Posts: 2634
Location: Canada
What is happening is the USB hub chip we use resets when the 1061 is opened and knocks everything else off the bus. Make sure you update your packages to the latest for best WiFi stability.

-Patrick


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 3:03 am 
Offline
Phidgetsian

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 7
Patrick wrote:
What is happening is the USB hub chip we use resets when the 1061 is opened and knocks everything else off the bus. Make sure you update your packages to the latest for best WiFi stability.

-Patrick


But why does it do so?
The problem even occurs if the SBC2 is connected via LAN and the only device connected to the USB port is the 1061 (or 1066).

I tried to upgrade all packages but the Package Management says "All packages are up to date."

If i click on Refresh Available Packages it says:

vvv
Refreshing...

Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze Release.gpg
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org/emdebian/grip/ squeeze/dev Translation-en
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org/emdebian/grip/ squeeze/doc Translation-en
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org/emdebian/grip/ squeeze/java Translation-en
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org/emdebian/grip/ squeeze/main Translation-en
Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze Release
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org squeeze Release.gpg
Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/contrib Translation-en
Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/main Translation-en
Ign http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/non-free Translation-en
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org squeeze Release
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/main armel Packages
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/dev armel Packages
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/java armel Packages
Ign http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/doc armel Packages
Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/main armel Packages
Hit http://www.phidgets.com squeeze Release.gpg
Ign http://www.phidgets.com/debian/ squeeze/main Translation-en
Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/dev armel Packages
Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/java armel Packages
Hit http://ftp.uk.debian.org squeeze/doc armel Packages
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org squeeze/main armel Packages
Hit http://www.phidgets.com squeeze Release
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org squeeze/contrib armel Packages
Hit http://ftp.us.debian.org squeeze/non-free armel Packages
Ign http://www.phidgets.com squeeze/main Sources
Ign http://www.phidgets.com squeeze/main armel Packages
Hit http://www.phidgets.com squeeze/main Sources
Hit http://www.phidgets.com squeeze/main armel Packages
Reading package lists...

Done.
^^^

@eric
I tried to use another SBC2 we have with another 1061 and even with a 1066 PhidgetAdvancedServoController1. Still the same problem, so I think a replacement of these parts won't make a difference.

Now I'm waiting for an externally powered hub. But this won't be a suitable sollution because later on I want to use the SBC2 on a flying object via WiFi.

I hope you can help,
best regards,
Quadro


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:24 am 
Offline
Phidgetsian

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 7
erik wrote:
Can you try plugging the 1061 into an externally powered hub and then connecting that to the 1072? Some people have had luck with that, although it is by no means a convenient fix.

You can contact the distributor you purchased it from for an RMA, or if you bought it directly from us, you can email support@phidgets.com for a new 1061 and 1072.



Now I connected the 1061 with the SBC2 via hub and it works!!
But the weird thing is that this even works if there is no power supply connected to the hub. I tried it several times with an without hub. Only with a hub it works.
But Why??? This doesn't make sense to me.
What's the difference? Any suggestions?

And how can I use the 1061 without a hub?

(I used a Logitech Premium Port USB Hub for notebooks)


Edit:

I found something interesting about USB an wikipedia
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB#Non-standard_devices):

"[...] the USB specification required that devices connect in a low-power mode (100 mA maximum) and communicate their current requirements to the host, which would then permit the device to switch into high-power mode."

I'm not very versed with USB but I suppose this is what the 1061 isn't doing, so there isn't enough power provided. The hub solves this problem by communicating a higher current requirement (what is normal for a hub) which then could be used by the 1061.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:35 am 
Offline
Phidgetsian

Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:19 am
Posts: 11
Appreciate the post/info Quadro.

Ran in to the exact same problem last night! Through a process of elimination, I had got down to it only happening when the 1061 was connected.

Have also plugged in a mini-hub between SBC2 & 1061, its as solid as a rock now! No more device resets.

A little disappointed in having the "ugly" fix, space is limited in my project as it is.

Can at least crack on with the coding.

Regards,
Paul


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:50 am 
Offline
Phidgetsian

Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:51 am
Posts: 7
ClosetGeek wrote:
Appreciate the post/info Quadro.

Ran in to the exact same problem last night! Through a process of elimination, I had got down to it only happening when the 1061 was connected.

Have also plugged in a mini-hub between SBC2 & 1061, its as solid as a rock now! No more device resets.

A little disappointed in having the "ugly" fix, space is limited in my project as it is.

Can at least crack on with the coding.

Regards,
Paul



By now i found out, it doesn't matter which hub I use.
Space in my project is limeted too, so I bought the smallest hub I could find and it works just perfect.
It's an ELECOM USB HUB 4Port, X black (Art. Nr. 13506)
http://www.ednet-gmbh.de/?lang=en&corp_id=1&page=1&cat=10,80,2&artnr=13506


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group